contradicting quotes?

“Just draw what you see, don’t draw what you think”.

“Draw what you know, then what you see”.

“I don’t draw what I see, I draw what I want other people to see”.

Some quotes that pop up in my mind, not sure where they came from (tell me if you know & correct me if I’m wrong), but don’t you see the contradiction in those statements. However, for me, they don’t contradict each other but describe 3 levels of art.

First, you need to draw what you see, what you observe: “Just draw what you see, don’t draw what you think”.  When you can copy them perfectly as well as building good visual memory, you need to understand what you are drawing from inside out in order to create believable art pieces: “Draw what you know, then what you see”. Finally, when you master your craft, this’s time for creativity: “I don’t draw what I see, I draw what I want other people to see”.

 

Về Truong
CG Artist

Gửi phản hồi

